Business Immigration Pathways — Comparison Chart | Swodeshi Immigration Services
← Back to the Business Immigration guide Business immigration · comparison chart

Compare every pathway at a glance

The same 26 federal, Quebec, provincial and territorial business-immigration programs from our full guide — filterable by status, searchable by province or program, with net worth and investment shown to scale.

Checked September 2026 26 pathways · 1 federal + Quebec + 9 provinces + 3 territories All amounts in CAD
Both federal routes are paused. The Start-up Visa was paused June 30, 2026, and the Self-Employed Persons Program has been paused since April 30, 2024. Saskatchewan permanently closed its entrepreneur categories on March 27, 2025, and Ontario's OINP Entrepreneur Stream is closed. Every program is listed so the comparison is complete — not because all are available. Confirm live intake on the linked source before advising a client or filing.
02

Federal pathways

IRCC-administered — apply regardless of destination province
PathwayStatusMin. net worthMin. investmentOwnershipKey requirementsSource
Start-up Visa Program
Backed by a designated organization
Paused Not prescribed None from applicant ≥10% voting rights per founder; founders + org >50% together
  • Letter of support & commitment certificate from a designated org
  • CLB 5 in all four abilities
  • Settlement funds per IRCC's published table
Paused June 30, 2026; pre-pause applications continue processing.
IRCC →
Self-Employed Persons Program
Culture & athletics
Paused Not prescribed Not fixed N/A
  • Relevant cultural or athletic self-employment experience
  • Intention and ability to be self-employed in Canada
  • Selection-factor points and admissibility
Paused since April 30, 2024; no reopening date announced.
IRCC →
03

Quebec

Own selection system · French level 7 applies across all four
PathwayStatusMin. net worthMin. investmentOwnershipKey requirementsSource
Quebec Investor Program
The only investor program in Canada
Check intake $2,000,000
$1,000,000
+ $200,000 non-refundable contribution
N/A — passive investment
  • Net worth legally acquired
  • 2+ years' management experience in the past 5
  • 5-year term investment, government-arranged
  • Spoken French at level 7
Quebec →
Entrepreneur — innovative business
Backed by an innovation-specialized org
Check intake Not stated on page Not stated on page Not stated on page
  • Service offer from a specialized innovation organization
  • Business plan for the innovative project
  • Spoken French at level 7
Quebec →
Entrepreneur — start or acquire a business
Start-up vs. acquisition profiles differ
Check intake $600,000 / $300,000
start-up vs. acquisition
$300,000 / $150,000
Montréal metro vs. outside
≥25% of business value
  • Start-up/operating expenditure per region
  • Spoken French at level 7
Quebec →
Self-Employed Worker Program
Independent professionals & tradespeople
Check intake $100,000
$50,000 / $25,000
Montréal metro vs. outside
N/A — sole practice
  • 2+ years self-employed in your profession in the past 5
  • French, occupation and regulatory requirements
Separate from the paused federal Self-Employed program.
Quebec →
04

Western Canada

Alberta · British Columbia · Manitoba · Saskatchewan
PathwayStatusMin. net worthMin. investmentOwnershipKey requirementsSource
AAIP Rural Entrepreneur Stream
Participating rural Alberta communities
Check intake $300,000
$100,000
your own equity
Not stated on page
  • CLB 4 in each ability
  • High-school equivalency with an ECA
  • Exploratory visit and community support letter
AAIP →
AAIP Graduate Entrepreneur Stream
Graduates of Alberta public institutions
Check intake Not stated on page Not stated on page Min. 34%
  • 2+ years' full-time study for an Alberta degree/diploma
  • Valid PGWP at time of EOI
  • Business operated in Alberta ≥1 year
  • CLB 7 in each ability
AAIP →
AAIP Foreign Graduate Entrepreneur Stream
Applying from outside Canada
Check intake Not published on this page Not published on this page Not published on this page
  • Foreign post-secondary degree completed within the past 10 years
  • Letter of recommendation from an AAIP-approved designated agency
  • CLB 5 in each ability
AAIP →
AAIP Farm Stream
Primary-production farming
Check intake $500,000
or proof of access
$500,000
equity in the farm business
Not stated on page
  • Farm management experience
  • Viable farm business plan
AAIP →
BC PNP Entrepreneur — Base
BC PNP
Registration $600,000
$200,000
Not stated on page
  • ≥1 new full-time job for a Canadian citizen or PR
  • CLB 4
BC PNP →
BC PNP Entrepreneur — Regional
Referred by a participating small community
Referral $300,000
$100,000
≥51%
  • ≥1 new permanent FTE job
  • Community exploratory visit and referral before applying
BC PNP →
BC PNP Strategic Projects
Established foreign corporation expanding to BC
Corporate N/A — corporate $500,000
toward B.C. operations
N/A — corporate
  • ≥3 new FT jobs per key staff member proposed
  • Up to 5 key staff may be proposed
BC PNP →
MPNP Entrepreneur Pathway
Manitoba PNP, Business Investor Stream
EOI pathway $500,000
$250,000 / $150,000
Winnipeg Metro vs. outside
Not stated on page
  • 3+ years in past 5 as active owner or senior manager
  • CLB/NCLC 5
  • Create/maintain ≥1 job for a Canadian/PR
MPNP →
MPNP Farm Investor Pathway
Rural Manitoba farm business
EOI pathway $500,000
$300,000
farm investment
Not stated on page
  • 3+ years farm ownership and operation experience
  • Farm business research visit to Manitoba
MPNP →
SINP entrepreneur & farm categories
Entrepreneur, Int'l Graduate Entrepreneur & Farm Owner/Operator
Closed
  • Permanently closed March 27, 2025
  • No new applications or EOIs; existing files continue
Sask. →
05

Ontario & Atlantic Canada

New Brunswick · Newfoundland & Labrador · Nova Scotia · PEI · Ontario
PathwayStatusMin. net worthMin. investmentOwnershipKey requirementsSource
NB Business Immigration Stream
New Brunswick PNP
Check intake $500,000
$300k for agriculture-sector
$150,000
≥51% (or senior mgr, 2+ staff)
  • Age 19–59; CLB 4 in all four skills
  • 2 of last 5 years owning ≥51% or as senior manager
  • Create ≥1 full-time job
NB →
NL International Entrepreneur Category
Newfoundland & Labrador PNP
EOI open $600,000
unencumbered net assets
$200,000
or $1M+ in equity, any share
≥33.3% (or $1M+ equity, any share)
  • Age 21–59; CLB 5 across all four competencies
  • ≥1 FTE job for the local population
NL →
NL International Graduate Entrepreneur
Memorial University & College of the North Atlantic grads
EOI pathway Not stated on page Not stated on page Min. 33.3%
  • 2+ academic years full-time in-person study at Memorial or CNA
  • Valid PGWP; ≥1 year operating the business; CLB 7
NL →
Nova Scotia Entrepreneur Stream
By invitation only
By invitation $600,000 / $400,000
outside Halifax Regional Municipality
$150,000 / $100,000
outside HRM
Not stated on page
  • CLB 5
  • Operate the business one year before nomination
NS →
NS International Graduate Entrepreneur
By invitation only
By invitation Not stated on page Not stated on page Min. 33.33%
  • 2+ academic years full-time in-person study at an NS university or NSCC
  • ≥1 year continuous business operation; CLB 7 and valid PGWP
NS →
PEI Business Impact — Work Permit Stream
By invitation only
By invitation $600,000
verifiable, personal
$150,000
within 12 months
Not stated on page
  • Age 21–59; CLB 4
  • Operate ≥12 consecutive months; ≥$75k eligible operating expenses
  • ≥274 days/year resident in PEI
PEI →
OINP Entrepreneur Stream
Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program
Closed
  • Ontario launched a Workforce Priority stream; all other OINP streams, including Entrepreneur, are closed
  • A previously registered EOI is not an invitation
Ontario →
06

Northern Canada

Yukon · Northwest Territories · Nunavut
PathwayStatusMin. net worthMin. investmentOwnershipKey requirementsSource
Yukon Business Nominee Program
Identified economic needs in Yukon
Check intake $500,000
incl. ≥$300k liquid
$300,000
in the first 2 years
Not stated — must manage business yourself
  • 3+ years entrepreneurial/management experience, plus 5 years relevant work experience
  • Hold a NOC TEER 0 or 1 position
Yukon →
NTNP Business Stream
Lower thresholds outside Yellowknife
Check intake $500,000 / $250,000
Yellowknife vs. outside
$200,000 / $100,000
Yellowknife vs. outside
≥33.3% (or $1M+ equity, any share)
  • CLB 4 English or French equivalent
  • Exploratory visit with a face-to-face interview, plus a business plan
NWT →
Nunavut
No territorial nominee program
No program
  • No territorial entrepreneur nomination of any kind to apply for
  • Federal options must be assessed independently

Status key

EOI open

has a genuinely open, unconditional application route right now.

Check intake / Registration / Referral / By invitation

has some route in, but it's conditional, selective, or prone to pausing without notice.

Paused / Closed / No program

no active intake, permanently or pending redesign.

Reading the bars

Net-worth bars are scaled to a $2,000,000 ceiling (the Quebec Investor Program); investment bars to a $1,000,000 ceiling, so the relative reach of each threshold is comparable at a glance across every row.

“Not stated on page”

Means the linked source doesn't publish a fixed figure for that field — not that the program has none. Follow the source link for the full application guide before relying on it.